FASKALLY CARAVAN PARK - Updated 2022 Reviews (Pitlochry) (2022)

326Reviews22Q+A32Room tips

Reviews

We perform checks on reviews

Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews

Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.

When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.

Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.

Learn more about our review moderation.

Write a review

Traveller rating

  • 204
  • 74
  • 27
  • 10
  • 11

Time of year

Traveller type

Language

Selected filters

  • Filter

  • English

Popular mentions

Sort by:

Most Recent

Donna B wrote a review 13 Sept

York, United Kingdom95 contributions74 helpful votes

Good for visiting Pitlochry.

Well maintained site with both child friendly and quieter pitches. Good toilet and shower facilities plus a pool and bar / restaurant which I cannot comment on as didn’t use them. Bus to Pitlochry just 3 times a day but Easton accessible just across the road from the site. Unfortunately the quiet pitches are up against the main road so not entirely peaceful. Overall good value for my money and I would recommend it.

Read more

Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet pitch if you want to avoid the childrens play area which is quite noisy and busy.

See more room tips

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

2 days ago

Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Please come back and see us soon. Regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Silverspring82 wrote a review Jul 2022

Bo'ness, null, United Kingdom20 contributions18 helpful votes

Second time staying in tourer

This was our second time staying at Faskcally in our touring caravan. It’s a lovely site with a great wee pool but there are a few things to note: The Wi-Fi worked perfectly on our first trip, we were on the grass pitches. Second trip on hard standing was a complete failure on Wi-Fi, never connected and there isn’t a phone signal either! The grass pitches are rather steep so take blocks for the front steadies and jockey wheels! Showers are lovely and toasty but shower head is 9ft up the wall so the dry area also gets very wet. Be mindful otherwise your clean clothes will get soaked! I would definitely stay again but probably on grass as the lack of technology started to grate after a few days!

Read more

Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

27 Jul 2022

Dear Silverspring82, Thanks for taking the time to review our park. We were disappointed to read you had an issue with the WiFi as we have endeavoured to provide a free service for all our guests. What didn't help was the fact that during your stay the local phone masts were being worked on which meant no 4g. That was driving everyone mad. We're glad to say things seem to be ok now. Regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andy H wrote a review Jul 2022

Livingston, United Kingdom1 contribution

Enjoyable break

My wife, grandson (2yrs) and I had a lovely 4 day break at Faskally. The static caravan assigned to us, was excellent, looked spotless and nearly new. However, I had to remove a tuft of long hair from my grandsons mouth, which he had somehow picked up from the carpet. I then started looking for a non-existent hoover to give the carpet another going over. Unfortunately, all we could find was a dustpan and brush. My only other gripe, was the Wi-Fi. As Wi-Fi is increasingly forced upon us, we've all come to rely on it and although I know that it's good to go off-grid sometimes

Read more

Date of stay: July 2022

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

9 Jul 2022

Dear Andy, We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies about the hair. You should have reported it straight away and we would have remedied the situation. We have Wi-Fi all round the park and in the restaurant. Trying to get Wi-Fi into well insulated static caravans sometimes proves a challenge which we are endeavoring to meet. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

caroline T wrote a review Jul 2022

Glasgow, United Kingdom33 contributions24 helpful votes

A tad disapointed

Stayed 2 nights and had a great pitch near toilets.toilets/showers clean and tidy.only downfall was grass had been cut and grass trampled into toilets and showers then into motorhome. Shop ok, and met our needs.swimming pool ok but perhaps a session for adults only would be good due to younger boys hogging spa and steam room. Ate in resturant and food was good.staff very pleasant and polite ,again only downfall was kids at bar. Notices around bar and games room clearly state "no children at bar and after 9.00pm "in games room,children still around at 9.45 parents and staff not enforcing rules. I appreciate this caravan park is family oriented,however some of us oldies like to have fun too

Read more

Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

5 Jul 2022

Hi Caroline, Thank you very much for giving us a great review. We're sorry there was an issue with the grass. This was caused by a technical issue with the cutting equipment which has been resolved. You mentioned there were a lot of children in the pool and the bar. We are in the middle of the school holidays which means there are a lot of kids about. We do have an over-eighteen's area in the bar which you would have been very welcome to use. We also have a sign limiting the use of one of the pool tables to over eighteens after 9pm, please accept our apologies if that wasn't being adhered to. We experimented with an adults only pool session and found it was invariably under utilised. Please come back and see us again soon. Regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ian g wrote a review Jun 2022

3 contributions1 helpful vote

+1

A must visit site

Dunno where to start, first time we have visited and will be the first of many. We have 2 kids 5 and 7yr old, they had an absolute ball as did the adults. It’s got everything you need from a holiday park but not all the arcade machines that cost you a fortune at haven sites!! In saying that it still has a games room with arcade games, pool tables, air hockey, etc but they are mostly 50p a shot! The ship has everything You need and is cheap too!! Tins of food for under £1, sweets for 20p etc, juices, toys, alcohol etc etc. The restaurant was great, brilliant service and great food. 2 of the staff had only just started but with a friendly face and great service!! The pool was one of the highlights, good size and also a baby pool. Also a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna etc. all kept very clean at all times!! The park also great, we were in a tourer and had plenty space, clean big toilet block too Just above the river and nice walks with a path off the park! Clear to Pitlochry too which is worth a visit!! We will definitely return, the owner is very much involved and runs a great park, he personally attended to a friends little boy who had a tik requiring removed!! 5 outta 5 from me Thanks again to all

Read more

Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

1 Helpful vote

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

27 Jun 2022

Dear ian g, Thank you very much for your extremely kind words. It was our pleasure to take care of you and your friends. We have been fortunate to be able to put together a team who all work towards enhancing our guests' experience at Faskally. Your review is testament to their efforts. I hope the little lad got over his run-in with the tik. Kind regards, Ian Kind regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fifeduo wrote a review Jun 2022

Fife329 contributions176 helpful votes

+1

Lovely site

Stayed 4 nights in one of their chalets. Accommodation was lovely and very clean and weather an added bonus so spent time sitting out on the decking which was peaceful. Whole site was clean and all staff were polite and courteous. Shop on site very reasonably priced. Used here as a base and had nice access down by the river to some lovely walks taking you to killiekrankie and Pitlochry. Also drove up to Blair atholl and house of bruar where there was another nice walk up the falls. Bar/restaurant only open at weekends but website was up to date so we were aware of this. Didn’t use pool so can’t comment but imagine would be as clean as rest of the place. Thanks for a good stay would recommend to anyone from couples to families.

Read more

Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

24 Jun 2022

Dear Fifetrio, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our park. We were all delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us. Please don't leave it too long to come back and visit us again. Kind regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andrew wrote a review Jun 2022

Stirling, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes

Excellent site and location

Stayed for 4 nights in an excellent static van. Great location and staff very helpful. Shop is good and decent prices. Pool is fantastic. Only negative the bar is only open at weekends so were unable to use.

Read more

Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

18 Jun 2022

Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to review our park. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We have plans to open the bar and restaurant on at least 4 nights a week in the summer as more staff arrive. Regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RKE1975 wrote a review Jun 2022

51 contributions85 helpful votes

Wonderful

Stayed for 2 nights and have thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The site is pristine and well maintained and the shower/toilet block is immaculate - showers are powerful and piping hot too. The on site shop is very reasonable and all the staff were so friendly. We walked into Pitlochry and it takes half an hour exactly along the road (pavement the whole way so more than safe) or alternatively follow the river the path which is really scenic but takes just under the hour to walk. Great having the swimming pool, restaurant and bar on-site as well although the latter 2 were closed as we were there midweek. We can’t wait to come back over the summer holidays and thank you for a lovely stay.

Read more

Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

17 Jun 2022

Dear Flyerboy1975, Thank you so much for your kind words. It means a lot to everyone here to read that their hard work is appreciated. Hopefully, we will see you in the summer. Regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barbara M wrote a review May 2022

7 contributions1 helpful vote

Static tourer

My third season and loving it.fab clean showers much improved..great walks.well stocked shop at decent prices.well kept site.5 mins into pitlochry. Great dog walking countryside.lovely surroundings. Bill

Read more

Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

1 Helpful vote

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

2 May 2022

Dear Barbara M , Thank you for taking the time to review our park. It's great to see all the usual faces enjoying meeting up again. Take care and regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Morag wrote a review Apr 2022

Edinburgh, United Kingdom24 contributions3 helpful votes

Thanks Faskally ❤️

I've got no idea why I've left it so long to return to Faskally. All my childhood holidays were spent here in the 1970s and it was a place I have precious memories of, kept alive in my Dad's wee diary entries from back in the day. I admit I felt a wee bit sad that where we camped every year for weeks on end with our motorbike and sidecar has all been given over to touring caravans but I don't know the reasons for that. That said, on returning for a wee break this year, as soon as we turned down the road with the wee humps ( they were also there in the 1970s 😜) all of the atmosphere returned. The accomodation was lovely, very comfortable and on opening our door just a few steps away from the River Garry, Killiecrankie and Linn o' Tummel walks, just as beautiful as they always were. The wee shop on site has barely changed either. Perfect for top up stuff you might need, or a few beers or wee pocket money toys for children on a rainy day. All staff in there very friendly. The wee courtyard where Farmer Hay once put a TV out on a window ledge for all the campers to watch the 1974 world cup final on a blistering hot summers day now houses a lovely swimming pool and games room and bar area (not there in the 1970s!!) Faskally, just a couple of miles away from Pitlochry, remains a fabulous base for folk just looking for a peaceful break surrounded by lovely scenery and nice walks or time in the open air for their family. Hoping to come back soon.

Read more

Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family

This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

1 Helpful vote

Helpful

Share

Response from

Ian Hay

,

Owner

at

Faskally Caravan Park

Responded

17 Apr 2022

Dear MoragM68, Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review of our park. It brought home the fact that we're all getting on because we can remember the telly in the courtyard when the '74 World Cup final was on. Please don't leave it too long to come back again. Kind regards, Ian

Read more

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Kieth Sipes

Last Updated: 09/11/2022

Views: 6061

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (47 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Kieth Sipes

Birthday: 2001-04-14

Address: Suite 492 62479 Champlin Loop, South Catrice, MS 57271

Phone: +9663362133320

Job: District Sales Analyst

Hobby: Digital arts, Dance, Ghost hunting, Worldbuilding, Kayaking, Table tennis, 3D printing

Introduction: My name is Kieth Sipes, I am a zany, rich, courageous, powerful, faithful, jolly, excited person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.